Padma Bhusan is also known as the award of excellence, and the Padma bushman award is among the most prestigious awards given to civilians in India. The Padma Bhushan award is  for citizens who have shown exemplary service to the people and nation of India.

The fields
that qualify for nominations for the awards include visual arts, social work,
public affairs, engineering education, trade and industry sports science and
civil service.  This article is to
enlighten you on seven exciting and little known facts about the Padma Bhushan

1. Non Discriminative

The Padma
Bhushan award is given to all people regardless of where they were born.
Therefore all people are eligible for receiving the awards; the only
qualification is you have to excel in your specialty. Doctors, public servants,
and scientists are not legible for the prizes. It is also not given to people
who are dead except in extremely deserving circumstances.

2. Awardee selection Process

The process starts with the constitution of a committee by the prime minister. This process takes place between May 1st and September 15th. All states and unions, ministries, former awardees institutes of excellence chief governors and private citizens are required to submit suggestions for the people they feel should be awarded. The recommendations are forwarded to the president and prime minister who go ahead and either approve or reject the list. Those that get accepted are announced on the 26th of January a Republic day of India.

What the Award is not

In most
countries or states a state award comes with benefits such as money or titles.
That is not the case with the Padma Bhushan Award. It comes with no additional
benefits. The claims cannot be used on stamps, invitation cards, posters,
books, and letterheads. In the event, an awardee is caught using the award in
any of these ways it will be revoked and taken away from him.

4. Statistics

Since its inception, a lot of people have had the privilege of being conferred this award. Both native Indians and none Indians have received the award. As of the year 2015, the Padma Bhushan award had been given to a total of 1230 individuals.

5. The Padma Bhushan Controversies

intention of the Padma Bhushan award was noble to show appreciation to people
who made positive strides in the lives of others and the country as a whole. To
most awardees, it was a dream comes true but to others, it was not enough, or
it was not worth their status or effort. For example, a renowned singer S.
Janaki rejected it in the year 2013. Her excuse was that the award came too
late and that she felt that the government did not recognize the citizens of
southern India for their achievements.

6. The Padma Bhushan award Design

When the
awards began, the awardees got a medallion made of standard silver with rims on
the sides. It had a flower branded on the visible side and the state emblem of
India at the center of the hidden side. This design was changed a year later
into a round shaped bronze medallion. The lotus flower remained on the visible
side with the Padma text above it and the Bushan text below the lotus.

7. The Padma Bhushan Award

 The Padma Bhushan Award consists of a medallion and a Sanad (certificate). The awards are announced on 26th of January every year, and the ceremony is held in March or April. The number of awardees does not exceed 120 individuals.  The president reserves the powers to approve or revoke the award of any person.

In most countries, state awards are strictly given to the native citizens of that country. So for India to have an award for people from different countries is a very commendable act. It’s a very nostalgic moment if your efforts are recognized in a foreign country. Being awarded encourages you to work even harder, therefore leading to the growth and prosperity of a nation.